Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Distinguished Faculty awards recognize outstanding achievements in clinical care, community service, research and teaching. They are co-sponsored by the dean’s office, the Office of Faculty Affairs, Central Administration and the Executive Committee of the Faculty Council.

Read about the 2018 awards ceremony »
Nominate a faculty member »

Select Year:

  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • Alan C. Braverman, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Alan C. Braverman, MD, the Alumni Endowed Professor in Cardiovascular Diseases and Professor of Medicine, is honored as an outstanding... MORE»

  • Randall R. Odem, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Randall R. Odem, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology, is recognized for his commitment to patient care, training and mentoring,... MORE»

  • Christine R. Berg, PhD

    Distinguished Community Service Award

    Christine R. Berg, PhD, associate professor of occupational therapy and of neurology, is honored for her outstanding work to inspire... MORE»

  • Angela L. Brown, MD

    Distinguished Community Service Award

    Angela L. Brown, MD, associate professor of medicine, is recognized for her significant contributions in the St. Louis region and... MORE»

  • Victor G. Dávila-Román, MD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Victor G. Dávila-Román, MD, professor of medicine, of anesthesiology and of radiology, is honored as an exceptional mentor for junior... MORE»

  • Gautam Dantas, PhD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Gautam Dantas, PhD, associate professor of pathology and immunology, of biomedical engineering, and of molecular microbiology, is recognized for his... MORE»

  • Carey-Ann D. Burnham, PhD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Carey-Ann D. Burnham, PhD, associate professor of pathology and immunology, of molecular microbiology and of pediatrics, is honored for her... MORE»

  • Kenneth M. Ludmerer, MD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Kenneth M. Ludmerer, MD, Mabel Dorn Reeder Distinguished Professor in the History of Medicine and professor of medicine, is recognized... MORE»

  • Mark S. Sands, PhD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Mark S. Sands, PhD, professor of medicine and of genetics, is recognized for his exceptional work providing an outstanding, nurturing... MORE»

  • Andreas H. Burkhalter, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Andreas H. Burkhalter, PhD, professor of neuroscience, is recognized as an international leader in the field of neuroscience research. He... MORE»

  • Susan K. Dutcher, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Susan K. Dutcher, PhD, professor of genetics and of cell biology and physiology, is honored for her work as a... MORE»

  • Christopher J. Lingle, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Christopher J. Lingle, PhD, professor of anesthesiology and of neurobiology, is honored as an internationally renowned investigator known for the... MORE»

  • Andrew S. Yoo, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Andrew S. Yoo, PhD, assistant professor of developmental biology, is honored for his commitment to the development of highly innovative... MORE»

  • Graham A. Colditz, MD, DrPH

    Daniel P. Schuster Award for Distinguished Work in Clinical and Translational Science

    Graham A. Colditz, MD, DrPH, the Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery and professor of medicine, is recognized for his distinguished contributions... MORE»

  • Michael V. Friedman, MD

    Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Award in Medical Student Education

    Michael V. Friedman, MD, assistant professor of radiology in the musculoskeletal imaging section of Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, is recognized... MORE»

  • Dehra A. Harris, MD

    Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Award in Medical Student Education

    Dehra A. Harris, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry, is recognized for her role as an extraordinary and innovative educator. Harris... MORE»

  • Sabrina Nuñez, PhD

    Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Award in Medicine Student Education

    Sabrina Nuñez, PhD, assistant dean for curriculum and the basic sciences, is recognized for her passion and enthusiasm for medical... MORE»