Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.



Medical school dean

David H. Perlmutter, MD

Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, Washington University
George and Carol Bauer Dean, School of Medicine
Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor

Executive leadership

Eva Aagaard, MD

Vice Chancellor for Medical Education
Senior Associate Dean for Education

Greg Barrett

Vice Chancellor for Biomedical Strategy, Marketing and Communications

Mark Lowe, MD, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research, Washington University
Senior Associate Dean of Research, School of Medicine

Paul Scheel, MD

Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs
Chief Executive Officer, Faculty Practice Plan

Renée Shellhaas, MD

Associate Dean for Faculty Promotions and Career Development

Rick Stanton

Vice Chancellor for Medical Finance and Administration

Sherree Wilson, PhD

Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Executive Faculty

The Executive Faculty is responsible for the administration, regulation and management of the affairs of the School of Medicine. Its responsibilities include approving school policies with respect to educational affairs, providing counsel on the formulation of other major school policies, approving and recommending faculty appointments and promotions, and approving the conferral of degrees.

Faculty committees and council

Faculty committees and the faculty council govern various aspects of School of Medicine activities related to research, patient care and education. Their purpose is to help ensure that the school’s activities are carried out in compliance with university policies as well as with state and federal law.

Officers and National Council

The university’s and medical school’s boards and officers include strategic and administrative leadership.

Department heads and program deans

The school’s three allied health programs and 21 academic departments support the school’s three-part mission of conducting outstanding patient care, education and research.

Student leadership

The Medical Student Government is the main communication pathway between the student body and the administration. The body is responsible for advancing student interests and welfare to achieve excellence in academic pursuits and professional interactions.

University leadership

Washington University leadership includes the chancellor, the provost, who serves as chief academic officer, the Board of Trustees, which serves as the chief governing body of the university, and the University Council, which advises the chancellor.