Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Barbara S. Monsees, MD

Barbara S. Monsees, MD, is the Ronald and Hanna Evens Professor of Women’s Health and chief of Breast Imaging at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at Washington University School of Medicine.

Monsees is being honored for her exceptional skill and dedication as a mentor of residents and clinical fellows. Over the past 15 years, she has mentored more than 24 fellows and countless residents in breast imaging. In addition, she has extended her teaching role nationally through presentations at the Radiological Society of North America, the Society of Breast Imaging and the National Conference on Breast Cancer. Trainees describe Monsees as a sensitive, conscientious and outstanding physician who, as a mentor, sets extremely high standards and leads by example.

Monsees earned her medical degree at Washington University School of Medicine in 1975, was an intern and resident in pediatrics at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, and finished her medical training with a radiology residency at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.

Monsees is recognized as a national leader in breast imaging. She has been named in America’s Top Doctors, published by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., and has served as chair of the Food and Drug Administration’s National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee, as president of the Society of Breast Imaging, and as a consultant to the Institute of Medicine and the Breast Cancer Surveillance Consortium on improving quality standards in breast imaging.

She has served on numerous other national committees and as a reviewer for a variety of journals, the National Institutes of Health and the Department of Defense. She has been honored as a fellow of the American College of Radiology and the Society of Breast Imaging. At Washington University she received the Distinguished Alumni Scholarship Award, the School of Medicine Alumni Faculty Award, and the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology Teacher of the Year Award.

Published: 03/23/2008