Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Visit the News Hub

Siegel receives nuclear science award

Director of Division of Nuclear Medicine receives National Award of Nuclear Science & History

May 25, 2016

Barry A. Siegel, MD, director of the Division of Nuclear Medicine at Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has received the 2016 National Award of Nuclear Science & History.

The honor, presented to Siegel earlier this spring, is awarded annually by the National Atomic Museum Foundation to a prominent person or organization who has had an impact on nuclear issues. It celebrates achievement and commitment to furthering scientific endeavor and is given to individuals in areas of military leadership, medical technology, public policy and government, energy sciences, education and space exploration.

Siegel — who is also a professor of radiology and of medicine and a member of Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and the School of Medicine — has made contributions related to the diagnosis of pulmonary embolism, the detection of thrombosis, and oncological applications of radionuclide tracers. For the past two decades, his research has focused on uses of positron emission tomography (PET) for cancer diagnosis and staging, as well as predicting and monitoring tumor response to therapy. He also has been heavily engaged in the development and conduct of multicenter clinical trials in the arena of cancer.

Further, he has served as a consultant to and advisory committee chair for the Food and Drug Administration, a consultant to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), and is a past chairman of the NRC Advisory Committee on the Medical Use of Isotopes.