Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Visit the News Hub

Edelson, White, Yau receive Goldstein awards

Honor recognizes outstanding teaching, commitment to medical education

March 15, 2019

Washington University

The Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Awards in Medical Student Education recognize outstanding teaching and commitment to medical education and are among the highest honors faculty at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis can receive.

This year’s recipients, selected by a committee of faculty members, are Brian Edelson, MD, PhD, Andrew J. White, MD, and Timothy Yau, MD. The awards are presented annually by the medical school’s Office of Education.

Edelson, who received his medical degree and doctorate from the School of Medicine and completed his residency in clinical pathology at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, is an assistant professor of pathology and immunology in the Division of Laboratory and Genomic Medicine. He is course director of the first-year immunology course.

White, the James P. Keating Professor of Pediatrics, was named vice chairman of education in the Department of Pediatrics in 2017 and has been director of the Pediatric Residency Program at St. Louis Children’s Hospital since 2002. He has served as co-director of the Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia Center of Excellence since 2006, and previously was director of the Division of Pediatric Rheumatology for 13 years.

Yau joined the faculty as an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Nephrology in 2011. In addition to his role teaching Practice of Medicine courses, he is involved in the school’s curriculum renewal efforts and serves on the Committee on Admissions for the School of Medicine.

For more information on the awardees and the selection committee, follow this link.