Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Visit the News Hub

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society names class of 2023

24 Washington University faculty, alumni, trainees selected

June 26, 2023

Washington University School of Medicine’s Alpha Omega Alpha chapter has chosen 24 faculty members, alumni and house officers-in-training to be new members of the medical honor society.

Alpha Omega Alpha is dedicated to professionalism, scholarship, leadership and service. It stresses that those in medicine can improve care for all through the recognition of high educational achievement, gifted teaching, encouraging the development of leaders in academia and in the community, support for the ideals of humanism and the promotion of service to others.

“AOA’s core principles align with the WashU School of Medicine vision of a culture that supports diversity, inclusion, critical thinking and creativity,” said Renée Shellhaas, MD, associate dean for faculty promotions and career development. “These outstanding new AOA members reflect the excellence and dedication of our school to science, education and patient care.”

Faculty members chosen for the society’s newest class are Li-Shiun Chen, MD, an associate professor of psychiatry; Gregory A. Ewald, MD, a professor of medicine and associate chief of clinical cardiology; Ida K. Fox, MD, an associate professor of surgery in the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery; Joan Noelker, MD, an associate vice chair of education and associate professor of emergency medicine; Robert F. Poirier Jr., MD, an associate professor of emergency medicine and chief of clinical operations; Sidharth V. Puram, MD, PhD, an assistant professor of otolaryngology and division director of head & neck surgery; Abby Spencer, MD, a professor of medicine, vice chair for education, and director of the Academy for Educators; Barbara B. Warner, MD, the F. Sessions Cole Professor of Newborn Medicine and director of the Division of Newborn Medicine; Pamela K. Woodard, MD, the Hugh Monroe Wilson Professor of Radiology; and Lisa A Zickuhr, MD, an assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Rheumatology.

Alumni chosen for this year’s class are Brian J. DeBosch, MD, PhD, an associate professor of pediatrics, and of cell biology & physiology; Andrew C. Glatz, MD, the Louis Larrick Ward Professor of Pediatrics and director of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology; and Ian S. Hagemann, MD, PhD, an associate professor of pathology & immunology, and of obstetrics & gynecology.

House officers selected to the society are Tamara Cameo, MD, a resident in obstetrics & gynecology; Cosette Champion, MD, a resident in internal medicine; Christian Gerhart, MD, chief resident in emergency medicine; Miroslaba Gomez, MD, a resident in emergency medicine; Kai Jones, MD, a resident in internal medicine; Hansini Laharwani, MD, a fellow in obstetrics & gynecology, and pathology & immunology; Yuping Derek Li, MD, a resident in neurosurgery; Jessica Lindemann, MD, chief resident in surgery; Niral Patel, MD, a resident in general medicine; Jennifer Reyes Lin, MD, a resident in emergency medicine; and Shreyas Venkataraman, MD, a fellow in internal medicine.