Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Visit the News Hub

2017 Excellence in Nursing Awards announced

10 School of Medicine nurses honored

May 17, 2017

Several Washington University School of Medicine nurses received 2017 Excellence in Nursing Awards. Shown in the front row, from left: Brenda Hall, Ashley Fasciola, Jane Exler and Dawn Busch. In the back row, from left: Cathy Scott, Carol Recklein, Stephanie Hanneken, Jennifer Ledbetter and Cheryl Cress.

Four School of Medicine nurses have received the 2017 Excellence in Nursing Award from St. Louis Magazine. The eighth-annual awards honor local nurses who have made a difference in the lives of their patients and colleagues. The award winners were announced in April. They are:

  • Cathy Scott, a nursing supervisor in medical oncology.
  • Jenn Ledbetter, a pediatric nurse practitioner in orthopedic surgery.
  • Karen Brown, a nurse practitioner in neurosurgery.
  • And Carol Recklein, a research nurse coordinator in endocrinology and metabolism.

In addition, six other School of Medicine nurses were finalists in the program, which gave awards in 16 categories. The Washington University finalists were:

  • Dawn Busch, of the Department of Medicine.
  • Cheryl Cress, of the Department of Medicine.
  • Jane Exler, of the Department of Anesthesiology.
  • Ashley Fasciola, of the Department of Neurology.
  • Brenda Hall, of the Department of Medicine.
  • Stephanie Hanneken, of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery.

Sixty-four finalists were selected from more than 200 submissions.

The finalists were evaluated and chosen by a committee that included: Patricia Davidson, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing dean; Ann Cary, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Nursing and Health Studies dean; Karen Drenkard, Get Well Network chief clinical and nursing officer; Shirley Farrah, University of Missouri-Sinclair School of Nursing assistant dean; Debra Harrison, Mayo Clinic in Florida chief nursing officer emeritus; and Phyllis Arn Zimmer, Nurse Practitioner Healthcare Foundation president.

Visit this site to read St. Louis Magazine’s story about the award winners.