Updates on campus events, policies, construction and more.


Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Visit the News Hub

Scott receives lifetime achievement award from laboratory medicine society

Recognized for training laboratory medicine professions, improving lab tests

May 15, 2019

Mitchell G. Scott, PhD, a professor of pathology and immunology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has received the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. The award, which recognizes people who have made significant contributions to the field of laboratory medicine via service, education and research, is the highest honor given by the association.

By analyzing bodily fluids, clinical chemists and laboratory medicine professionals help doctors make precise diagnoses, provide effective treatment options and monitor a patient’s response to treatment. Scott has led more than 70 clinical studies of new laboratory tests and markers of disease, with a special focus on ways to monitor blood sugar in hospitalized patients and detect signs of heart disease.

As co-director of the clinical chemistry postdoctoral training program at the School of Medicine, Scott has helped train 63 fellows and more than 200 pathology residents. He is also a co-medical director of clinical chemistry and medical director of point-of-care testing at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. Point-of-care testing is testing done at a patient’s bedside.

Scott has served as president of three national associations: the American Board of Clinical Chemistry, the American Association of Clinical Chemistry and the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists. He completed his bachelor’s degree at Washington University and his doctoral degree, and a postdoctoral fellowship in clinical chemistry at the School of Medicine before joining the faculty in 1987.