Information for Our Community

Whether you are part of our community or are interested in joining us, we welcome you to Washington University School of Medicine.


Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Distinguished Faculty awards recognize outstanding achievements in clinical care, community service, research and teaching. They are co-sponsored by the dean’s office, the Office of Faculty Affairs, Central Administration and the Executive Committee of the Faculty Council.

2015 Awards

Recipients of the 2015 awards were recognized at a Faculty Recognition Event on February 18 at the Eric P. Newman Education Center.

“There is no greater honor than to be recognized for excellence by one’s peers,” said Larry J. Shapiro, MD, executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine. “It is people who make an institution, and this is a place where exceptional individuals have created an extraordinary institution; one that provides great care for patients, that generates knowledge, and that provides an outstanding educational experience for all of our students and trainees.”

More about the ceremony »

Select Year:

  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • Gordon Bloomberg, MD

    Gordon R. Bloomberg, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Gordon R. Bloomberg, MD, professor of pediatrics, is honored for his outstanding contributions to the care of pediatric patients with... MORE»

  • Richard D. Brasington Jr., MD

    Richard D. Brasington Jr., MD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Richard D. Brasington Jr., MD, professor of medicine, is recognized for his exceptional contributions to medical education. Since joining the... MORE»

  • Michael Caparon, PhD

    Michael Caparon, PhD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Michael Caparon, PhD, professor of molecular microbiology, is honored for his outstanding contributions to graduate student teaching. Caparon, also associate... MORE»

  • D. Katherine Grange, MD

    D. Katherine Grange, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Katherine Grange, MD, professor of pediatrics in the division of genetics and genomic medicine, is honored for her exceptional work... MORE»

  • Ann M. Gronowski, PhD

    Ann M. Gronowski, PhD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Ann M. Gronowski, PhD, professor of pathology and immunology and of obstetrics and gynecology, is honored for her exceptional work... MORE»

  • Michael J. Holtzman, MD

    Michael J. Holtzman, MD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Michael J. Holtzman, MD, the Selma and Herman Seldin Professor of Medicine and Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology, is... MORE»

  • Amanda L. Lewis, PhD

    Amanda L. Lewis, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Amanda L. Lewis, PhD, assistant professor of molecular microbiology and of obstetrics and gynecology, is honored for her groundbreaking contributions... MORE»

  • Timothy M. Lohman, PhD

    Timothy M. Lohman, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Timothy M. Lohman, PhD, the Brennecke Professor of Biophysics in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, is being honored for his fundamental... MORE»

  • Barbara A. Lutey, MD

    Barbara A. Lutey, MD

    Distinguished Community Service Award

    Barbara A. Lutey, MD, assistant professor of medicine, is honored for her exceptional dedication to community service. As an internist... MORE»

  • Vamsi R. Narra, MD

    Vamsi R. Narra, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Vamsi R. Narra, MD, professor of radiology at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (MIR), is honored for his considerable achievements... MORE»

  • David M. Ornitz, PhD, MD

    David M. Ornitz, PhD, MD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    David M. Ornitz, PhD, MD, Alumni Endowed Professor of Developmental Biology, is honored for his seminal discoveries in the field... MORE»

  • Camillo Padoa-Schioppa, PhD

    Camillo Padoa-Schioppa, PhD

    Distinguished Investigator Award

    Camillo Padoa-Schioppa, PhD, assistant professor of neurobiology, of economics and of biomedical engineering, is recognized for his fundamental discoveries in... MORE»

  • Alan Pestronk, MD

    Alan Pestronk, MD

    Distinguished Clinician Award

    Alan Pestronk, MD, professor of neurology and of pathology and immunology, is recognized for his significant contributions as a clinical... MORE»

  • Tammy S. Sonn, MD

    Tammy S. Sonn, MD

    Distinguished Educator Award

    Tammy S. Sonn, MD, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, is honored for her outstanding dedication and talent in the... MORE»